what poverty taught me about wealth

David:

A great reminder while I’m sitting on the carpet (ok taking a break this moment) listening (because I’m mostly writing rather than watching) to Secret Church – Old Testament Survey.

Originally posted on Becoming Anyole:

Last year on the World Race, I didn’t spend very much money personal money on a day-to-day basis. Occasionally I would splurge – on new running shoes or a trip to the Great Wall – but on average I spent less than $100 a month. The main reason for this is because I went a year without an income. But also, I lived among the population of the world that lives on only $1 or $2 aday.

Living in poverty, even by choice, will change your spending habits pretty quickly.

Though I now have an income, I’m still hyper-aware of how I spend my money. I might even be more attentive, because there’s more money in my account and it’s easier to lose track when you’re just swiping a card instead of carrying around a bunch of bills and coins (that are different in value and shape from last month’s currency).

These days…

View original 525 more words

Leave a Reply

