Coffee, anyone?

My lovely sister-in-law bought me a coffee grinder for Christmas. Which beans should I buy?
Now, back home I might have some idea of what brands are good (and almost as importantly, good value for money), and what I might like and dislike, but here in the states I am a bit out of my league. I’ve bought tins of already ground coffee several times, and although I’ve admittedly not invested a lot of money, the results,  on a couple of different machines, and preparing it turkish-style on the stove, haven’t been very successful at all.
Kopi luwak? Yes, please!

I have to say that in the past I’ve been spoilt. For a period of time I had the opportunity to regularly drink kopi luwak coffee – that rather expensive, rare, and infamous “cat poo” coffee that is now my favourite and the standard by which I tend to compare how much I like new coffees.
Failing on finding an appropriately economical source of luwak coffee, I’m wondering if anyone can suggest some beans I might try.

I didn’t like Starbucks’ coffee all that much in Sydney, and although it is marginally better here, I’m not all that impressed. I don’t know if their packaged beans are better than the coffee they serve in their stores. I did like Gloria Jean’s coffee back in Perth, but I don’t know if it’s the same here in the states (that and I’ve never seen a store here in Texas).

I like my coffee strong in flavour, yet not acrid or bitter. I don’t mind hints of chocolate, vanilla or chicory etc, but they’re not essential at all, as long as they’re not overpowering. I like bolder flavours, but it doesn’t have to be too bold as I tend to make it on the strong side anyway.

If you’ve got a favourite variety/brand of beans that you grind fresh, I’d love to hear about it!

2 comments

    1. Does it taste good? The price isn’t my attraction, as my source was family visits to the kopi luwak place in Indonesia ehile on holiday. Apparently it’s much cheaper there, $50 a kilo or something.

Leave a Reply

