Plenty of reading! :D Now for a plan.

Y’know, it’s interesting. True enough I love fiction – a good portion of the possession that I brought with me when I migrated to the ‘states were novels – but in the few years since I haven’t read many novels at all (comparatively speaking, I suppose).

When I started this log, I only had one novel on my reading horizon – Terry Pratchett’s Raising Steam. Now, merely a month later, I have three waiting for me to get stuck into, another to get around to, and Raising Steam due to be released a month from now. They are:

The Road to Jerusalem, by Jan Guillou, first of the trilogy that the Arn film/miniseries were based on

The King’s Fifth by Scott O’Dell, purportedly the basis or inspiration for the children’s television series The Mysterious Cities of Gold

American Gods by Neil Gaiman – which I’ve had for awhile but never got around to reading, but apparently there’s a TV series coming, so I should get around to it at some point.

The Eye of the World by Robert Jordan, first novel in The Wheel of Time series, which I decided to pick up after Adam‘s recommendation on a post over at 101 Books, but it might be a little while until I tackle that, as it is eight hundred pages alone, and The Wheel of Time is a long series.

That, and, as much as I tend to read several books concurrently, I don’t particularly enjoy doing that with novels – I tend to put everything else down when I get into a novel, and pick back up when I’ve finished it, at least the other novels and narrative style books that I have on the go.

I think I might try taking that approach with my other reading, actually, at least for a time. Lately I’ve been tending to acquire one book after another, starting them and winding up leaving them for the next book that piques interest. Birthday and Christmas season didn’t help that – too many gift cards and not enough reading time. I have to say Netflix hasn’t helped either. As far as non-fiction goes, I’m probably going to focus on finishing Fight by Preston Sprinkle, and then maybe Genius for Deception by Nicholas Rankin before starting The Lost World of Genesis One: Ancient Cosmology and the Origins Debate by John Walton.

For awhile now I’ve been uncomfortable with the traditional method of interpreting Genesis for scientific and literal-historical meaning. Walton prefers to view Genesis through the perspective of its original readers and context (hint – ancient narrativism and history were not written with modern conventions and expectations of literal accuracy as we would understand it). Should be interesting, from what I’ve read so far in Nate Claiborne’s exploration of the subject, this method seems much more logical and consistent, without requiring or excluding the conclusions of the scientific community (with some exceptions) while sitting much more comfortably with extant archaeological evidence.

But that’s another discussion for another blog. Right now I am to work on the washing up and putting laundry away, while watching Mulan II with my son. Ironically enough, I would probably be reading more if I wasn’t blogging about reading.

Leave a Reply

