Did you see Francis Chan’s sermon from Passion 2014?

If you haven’t, may I be bold and suggest you do? It blew my mind more than a little bit and the implications are still sinking in.

Centered on 1 Peter 1:3, which says ” His divine power has granted to us all things that pertain to life and godliness, through the knowledge of him who called us to his own glory and excellence,” Chan breaks it down – we have all we need to live a holy God honouring life. He has already given us what we need. We have the Holy Spirit. All we need to add to that is our own diligence – we have to actually try (v 5, 6) and add perseverance and self control into the mix. I found this pretty freeing. Yes all my self control etc comes from Him in the first place, and yes I will still sin and fall. But I can have confidence that He has given me what I need to please Him with my heart, desires, life and actions.

I’m actually gonna listen to this a couple more times, and chase down some of the other sermons from this year’s Passion.

Btw favourite quote/paraphrase: ” ‘It’s easy for you, you’re Francis Chan’ like, that sentence should not even exist!”

2 comments

Leave a Reply

