Francis Chan: Why Small Group Discipleship is Important

I’ve been thinking a lot about “the church” lately, and how we relate to eachother, those who don’t believe, and how we live our lives. I think ‘real’ informal relationships are vital, as well as more formal ‘small group’ structures. In reading about “The church as a family,” I was linked to this audio which I’m now listening to and it’s pretty interesting too.

 

Francis’ video here, however, is rather inciteful –

the comparison of China and Russia is quite stark, although the Church in those countries was never entirely eliminated, as Richard Wurmbrand’s Tortured for Christ evidences. That book is free through that link, by the way, you should read it. What would (will?) we do and how would we cope (if?) in similar circumstances?

Edit: That mp3 is wonderful. I definitely have to confess that I sometimesoften haven’t treated those I know or those in my local congregation as family. I definitely haven’t made the effort I could and should have to be intentional about getting to know them, checking up on those I don’t see much anymore, as if they really were my family. Mind you, I don’t always do that job well with my biological family either. I must try harder.

One comment

  1. Amen , we have a discipleship program at our church, where we have 6 to 8 facilitators or disciples(teachers) who disciple 4 or 5 new believers in each group . Each discipleship is a 1 year commitment and we meet every Monday evening for 1 1/2 hours . We have found that this small group setting works best, as it allows a student to become a disciple and a disciple will in turn disciple others . On a slightly different note , please consider this video and feel free to share it with as many people as you Love. God Bless You. http://youtu.be/lX_xM9hqEF0

Leave a Reply

