Writer’s blot … well played satan

I’ve been in a bit of a writing blot lately. I don’t know what that actually means, or if I just coined it, but it is what came to my mind instead of (and far preferentially to) the ugly phrase “writer’s block.”

And yet, I am feeling as if I should journal more. But I don’t have much to say.

Nothing profound.
And yet I feel as if I do.
Or that that statement is profound.

Or something.

Maybe I’m just “feeling profound,” whatever that means.
Actually, I’ve been in a bit of a funk. Rather tired – we were sleeping better (however much I complained), and lately less so, with some long days in between.

I guess that tiredness has fed into not keeping up with the online courses in 1st Timothy and about the Higgs boson.*
Not so crucial. But also into my reading and prayer life.

More crucial.

Thinking about the issues I’ve been thinking about, and being challenged the way I have lately ought to lead me to the Word and Him, shouldn’t it? Instead (as often, I suppose), it fatigues me and I manage to be distracted away from the very source of my vitality, energy and life. Call it apathy. ell played, sinful flesh/satanic enemies (Eph 6:12, 1 Pet 5:8).

This should prompt me to do something, like fight and disobey that temptation to go to sleep or write or otherwise absorb myself in something less important.

But first I want to say how this reminds me of Frank Peretti’s more adult novels, and C.S. Lewis’ The Screwtape Letters.**

While some took these novels and became over-superstitious, hyper spiritualising and  over-suspicious, they just opened up my mind and eyes of an agency other than myself and God in manipulating my mind and life’s events. It’s tempting to picture angels and demons wandering around and fighting (as in Peretti’s novels) as over-dramatisation, and maybe it is. Or isn’t, given scripture’s references to angels. I don’t think playing “spot the devil” is particularly efficacious, but being more aware of the plans of our enemy and how he might be using us and our circumstances against us, isn’t a terrible thing to keep in mind. Not that God doesn’t allow and have it all under His hand, obviously. More, it does keep me, remind me, of the need for self-discipline and control, to fight my fleshly desires and consider them in the context of a larger fight.

For instance, I “should” sleep, but now, rather than scribbling out several more pages, I shall go read and pray.

Goodnight, at least for now.

And goodbye funk.

* The former I’ll probably take a couple of hours to catch up on soon, the latter, well I might stay behind on it. **Apparently there is now an audio version with John Cleese narrating. I want it. Please?

Leave a Reply

