Relaxing?

I’m supposed to be having a relaxing day today. My mother-in-law wanted to look after my son, and yesterday afternoon was, trying.
I do have some housework to do, but nothing crazy. But what I’ve found through these ‘rest days’ is that I don’t rest. I mean, I do, but I tend to want to get so much done, or rather, there are so many things I want to do, that I end up running around jumping from one thing to the next, without actually relaxing.

Sometimes I think we’ve, as a society, forgotten how to relax. I mean I think about not doing anything this afternoon but watching a move or reading, and at the end of it I’ll feel like I’ve got nothing done.

Or maybe that’s a flaw in perception – I don’t necessarily consider down time or relaxation as something to be done, to be accomplished in and of itself.

In a little bit I’m going to grab lunch (because I haven’t eaten breakfast) and then put up the laundry while watching Star Trek: Insurrection. See? I frame it as something I’m doing while getting something else done. I will be putting out a post about Star Trek probably tonight or tomorrow, so look out for it 🙂

For right now though, I’m going to stick on some more laundry and finish the washing up before my wife calls on her morning break.

Ciao.

Leave a Reply

