Noah (MOVIE REVIEW)

Assuming this is true (and I have no reason to believe it is not)…it’s a real shame! There really was plenty of room to fill in the Biblical account with some drama. Some futurist stuff, and vegetarianism makes sense (although why Able would raise sheep and not eat them, I don’t know, but I can work with it). I could even go with a relatively minor role for God in the film, such as an initial communication with Noah, and establishing the rainbow sign at the end. But what this movie comes out with is kinda bat**** crazy, if you’ll excuse my Klatchian, to the point of removing the central themes found in the Biblical account completely. I’d still err on the side of giving the film a watch, to be able to discuss it, but I have to say I’m definitely waiting for it to come to me on DVD or something. Honestly, given the reported abject terribleness of this adaptation, I may be watching it more for Emma Watson’s acting than for anything else.

 

Gravely disappointed.

 

Sidenote – I had linked through to Phil Cooke’s article about Why I’m Recommending Christians See the Movie Noah – now I’m questioning his motives, or whether he had really seen the film. I mean I still understand his point about seeing it and using it as a point to discuss…but according to the reviews I’ve seen since the film’s release, I’m at pains to understand how Cooke could underemphasise the non-Biblical elements in the film.

Geekritique

Do you remember when you were a kid and you had to read a book for school and then create a presentation in front of the class. There was always that one kid who refused to read the book but he’d still have an elaborate project in an attempt to impress for a grade and the rest of the class would have to sit through it? You know the feeling of looking forward to something for a while, knowing it has extreme potential, but it just falls flat, and a sinking sensation fills your guts? Everyone has at some point or another said “it’s just not as good as the book,” in reference to a movie adaption, am I right? Well all these scenarios apply to Darren Aronofsky’s Noah. If this film were graded on accuracy to the source text, it’d get a hard F.

The thing is, there is…

View original post 1,066 more words

One comment

Leave a Reply

