Links of the week March 30 – April 5

Well here we are with another Weekly Link Roundup. It’s been a crazy week, folks. I’ve been sick, I managed to get the second instalment of my series on alcohol out on time, and my son sorta kinda took what we’re claiming as a tentative first step (because the next one will probably be behind our backs sneaking somewhere he shouldn’t be).

Monty Python to disband after 10 London reunion shows
Truthfully, I don’t know how I feel about these guys doing a ‘final’ show together. Final is in inverted commas because what they’ve said is that they’ve no plans for any more shows, which isn’t quite the same thing. I mean, there is a tinge of sadness for me in arguably the greatest, most influential, or just plain longest lived (take your pick) comedy troupe of all time finally calling it quits, or retiring, or not actively looking to work together, or whatever they’re calling it. Forty five years is a good run in any business, nevermind show business, and comedy at that. I would love to be there.

 

The Apostle Paul and Women by Scott McKnight
Interesting. I’m not too comfortable with suggesting parts of scripture are non-canonical/inauthentic, bit he makes a good point about the reference to ‘the law’ in 1 Cor 14 – maybe it’s hyperbole or referring to an earthly or Old Covenant law no longer binding? Hmm.

How to be Friends With an Introvert
I’m kinda halfway between the two – I totally and completely function as an introvert most of the time when I’m around people. I love seeing people and making new friends. But then I really need my time alone, time to process, think, read and write. I’ve never really used the term “decompress” before, but I identify with the concept.

You are allowed your process
My wife thinks I’m crazy. And she is, but so am I. Like the above link, I’m kindof in both worlds, I end up working a lot like the man in this article – all over the place. But, I want to be, and often think, like the woman in this article, nice and planned and thought out.

NASA Space Assets Detect Ocean inside Saturn Moon
Watery ocean discovered within small moon of Saturn
Titan, Europa, and now Encleladus. Next there’ll be a beachfront resort on Io. It’s amazing the world that the Voyagers opened up, and the things we’re still discovering.

Monty Python to disband after 10 London reunion shows
Truthfully, I don’t know how I feel about these guys doing a ‘final’ show together. Final is in inverted commas because what they’ve said is that they’ve no plans for any more shows, which isn’t quite the same thing. I mean, there is a tinge of sadness for me in arguably the greatest, most influential, or just plain longest lived (take your pick) comedy troupe of all time finally calling it quits, or retiring, or not actively looking to work together, or whatever they’re calling it. Forty five years is a good run in any business, nevermind show business, and comedy at that. I would love to be there.

 

People are not looking for a friendly church
Can’t argue too much with this. If people are just friendly at church, without relationship and character, then that manufactured friendliness is a farce.

What Stephen Hawking Really Meant When He Said There Are No Black Hole
This is really interesting. Really deep and not awfully relevant to most people, but fascinating in its consequences for some of the major physical theories we have about the universe, and thus our understanding of the universe.  Plus, it’s kinda cool when someone as well known as Stephen Hawking can come out and say that there are issues with his theory.
I always thought, though, that the information wasn’t destroyed, just highly, highly squeezed, and inaccessible, but hey, I never completed my BSc.

 

This Man Dives Into The Abyss… And It’s Absolutely Terrifying!
Guillaume Nery free dive base jumps underwater into a sink hole 600+ feet deep and swims back to the top – yep, that’s holding his breath all the way. Wow.

Leave a Reply

